Driver License

GENERAL INFORMATION
Every Alabama resident who operates any motor vehicle must have a valid driver's license.  Alabama driver's license is valid for 4 years at a time.  The Driver License Division of the Alabama Department of Safety (DPS) allows renewal of driver's licenses up to 180 days before expiration, and gives a "grace period" of 60 days after it expires in which your license will still be valid and up to 3 years after it expires without needing to re-take any test.  Your driver's license expiration date is listed on your driver's license. 

Remember, DO NOT operate your vehicle without a valid driver's license.

Talladega County - License Division can process renewals and duplicates of AL driver licenses, and non-driver identification card (ID) at any location except for Oxford.  Driver licenses and non-driver IDs (renewals/duplicates) cannot be processed at Oxford location. 

RENEWAL OR REPLACEMENT OF YOUR ALABAMA DRIVER'S LICENSE OR NON-DRIVER ID
You can renew or replace your AL driver's licenses or ID Cards online or in person. 

  • Online  through Alabama Online License Issuance system by clicking here, or 
  • In Person - visit one of our Talladega County Revenue Commission- License Division office, click here for locations.  Please bring your current AL driver's license or Non-driver ID.  We accept cash or check only.

 

RENEWAL FEES
Replacement Fee (Lost or Stolen Driver Licenses or Non-Driver ID):  $31.25 
Standard License  $36.25 
CDL Class A Renewal  $66.25
CDL Class B Renewal  $56.25
CDL Class C Renewal (No hazmat) $36.25  

 


The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, Driver License Unit approves and processes all driver license for first-time issuance and out of state  transfer. If your request does not include renewals or duplicates of AL Driver License or Non-Driver ID, you must see the Driver License Examiner.  Please see contact info below.

Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA)
Driver License Examiner
Talladega County Courthouse
One Court Square
Basement Floor
Talladega, AL 35160
phone-512  256-362-2911
open hours  8:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m. (M-F); closed 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. 

VIEW DRIVER LICENSE MANUALS

For more information about driver license, please visit Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) by clicking here.